The nation of Malta consists of a tiny archipelago of islands in the very centre of the Mediterranean sea. There are three main islands with other smaller islets scattered around them. Two of these are inhabited, namely the main island of Malta and the smaller sister island of Gozo. In between them is an even smaller island called Comino which has just one family living on it, though there is also a hotel there. Malta’s nearest neighbour is Sicily which is 50 miles north of the country and is sometimes faintly visible from Malta on especially clear days. Malta can be reached by flight from most major airports in Europe, or by daily ferry from Sicily. Travelling between the Maltese islands is very easy too, with both seaplane and regular ferry connections between Malta and Gozo.